Channel: Breaking News, Entertainment, Sports & College Life | COED
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 37839

LISTEN: The Used, ‘The Canyon’ Stream & Download: New Album


The Used is an American rock band formed in Orem, Utah, in 2001. The group consists of vocalist Bert McCracken, guitarist Justin Shekoski, bassist Jeph Howard, and drummer Dan Whitesides. The group signed to Reprise Records and rose to fame in June 2002 after releasing their self-titled debut album. They create and perform music in these genres: emo, post-hardcore, punk rock, and alternative rock. In fact, the Used have enjoyed much success with most of their albums achieving gold and platinum statuses in many countries worldwide. Their 7th studio album, The Canyon, releases today, October 27th, 2017.

When I first viewed the cover art, it elicited a simplistic form. The background colors are eerie, gloomy, and dark. A prism-shaped pyramid is structured on the main part of the album, and you can clearly see a bright light shining on top of the geometric image. The title definitely reflects the imagery illustrated on the album.

It’s first selection, “For You,” has a strange and different style for its introduction. An interview or reflection, just an individual’s voice, is conducted at the entrance of the song. After that minuscule part, the dreamy and contagious vocals in conjunction with the acoustic guitar chords create an aura of peace and reverie. This song is truly “for you.” As for “Cold War Telescreen,” the background beat is mainly alternative and punk rock fused. The strong presence of the electric bass and the consistent drum-beat as well as the collective heavy vocals factor into the overall title of the song. It feels as if your emotions are in a type of war. The upbeat tempo and the pitches of the main singer set an exhilarating sense of atmosphere. Overall, the album embodies the essence of punk and alternative rock.

Stream Miley Cyrus’ album The Canyon

You can stream the album via Spotify. 

Apple Music The Canyon Stream

You can stream The Canyon on Apple Music.

Download The Canyon

If you like to purchase the album, head on over to iTunes.

The Canyon Tracklist

  1. “For You”
  2. “Cold War Telescreen”
  3. “Broken Windows”
  4. “Rise Up Lights”
  5. “Vertigo Cave”
  6. “Pretty Picture”
  7. “Funeral Post”
  8. “Upper Falls”
  9. “The Divine Absence (This Is Water)”
  10. “Selfies In Aleppo”
  11. “Moving the Mountain (Odysseus Surrenders)”
  12. “Over and Over Again”
  13. “The Quiet War”
  14. “Moon-Dream”
  15. “The Nexus”
  16. “About You (No Songs Left to Sing)”
  17. “The Mouth of the Canyon”

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 37839